Church Council

During both morning worship services on Sunday, February 18, 2018, the Broadmoor Family voted to approve a new set of Church Bylaws. Our existing bylaws had not been revised in 20 years. The most significant change to the current bylaws was the addition of a church-elected Church Council. The Church Council is comprised of pastors and lay members (both men and women), serving as the board of directors for Broadmoor. The Church Council is primarily tasked with administrative decisions as they relate to the church. The Church Council is comprised of fifteen people elected by members of the Broadmoor family.

Qualifications for Church Council Members

  • Recognized spiritual leaders within the Church.
  • Committed disciples of Jesus Christ in every aspect of their personal, professional and private lives.
  • Committed to their families, fulfilling their Biblical roles and responsibilities.
  • Committed to the ministry of the Church in worship, ministry and life stewardship.
  • Aware of and supportive of the vision statement, the mission statement and ministry values of the Church.
  • Passionate about living out the Great Commandments and fulfilling the Great Commission.
  • Willing to serve as faithful representatives of the Lord and the Church and willing to resign without hesitation if involved in any practice, behavior or attitude that would bring dishonor to the Lord or the Church.
  • Willing to follow the Biblical teaching of supporting, protecting, encouraging and following the leadership of the Lead Pastor and ministerial staff, working with a prayerful spirit of cooperation, consensus building and a view to building up the Body of Christ.
  • Honest, letting their “yes” be “yes” and their “no” be “no.”
  • Possessed of such spiritual gifts as leadership, administration, discernment, wisdom, encouragement and faith.
  • Willing to commit sufficient time to regularly meet with each other, the ministry staff and other lay leaders and to participate in leadership development and team building opportunities.
  • Willing to recognize and enthusiastically support the many ministries of the Church.
  • Willing to set aside personal agendas to prayerfully seek God’s direction for the Church, both in the present and in the future.
  • Team players, capable of listening to and learning from the insights and opinions of others.
  • Willing to seek consensus.


Broadmoor Bylaws